EGR Nordic Awards 2019 Nominees
Posted in Industry January 31, 2019

EGR Nordic Awards 2019 Nominees

It’s that time of the year again to recognize and appreciate the efforts of companies in the industry who dedicate their time and resources throughout the year. The relationship between companies and their customers is important, and these companies reward their players with generous bonuses, rewards, and exciting games. The best companies have the opportunity to win awards at events like the EGR Nordic Awards.

On January 24, 2019, hundreds of companies, along with their management and employees, gathered at Corinthia Hotel St George’s Bay in Malta for an enjoyable evening. Tickets were quite expensive, with a table for 10 costing €4,275 for members and €5,155 for others. The ticket included a three-course dinner, wine, drinks reception, the awards ceremony, and networking opportunities. Attending such an event is beneficial for those pursuing a career in the gambling industry.

2018 Winners

Every year, there are thirteen categories with dozens of nominees. Here are last year’s winners:

  • Evolution Gaming – Casino Content Supplier
  • NetEnt – Casino Platform Supplier
  • SBTech – Sports Betting Supplier
  • Cherry Affiliates – Affiliate programme
  • Betsson Group – Customer Services Operator
  • – In-house Innovation
  • Paf – Marketing Campaign
  • LeoVegas – Casino Operator, Sports Betting Operator, and Nordics Operator (3 separate awards)
  • Casumo – Mobile Operator
  • Kindred – Socially Responsible Operator

Winning one of the thirteen awards is a challenging task as it requires dedication and hard work throughout the year.

Categories and Nominees 2019

This year, there are thirteen categories and no additional implementations. The number of nominees varies for each category. Categories like the Sports Betting Operator have three nominees, while the Marketing Campaign Reward has 10 nominees, reflecting the significant investment companies make in advertisements.

Here are some of the most valuable categories this year: Mobile Operators, Casino Operators, and Content Suppliers. Winning in these categories can greatly benefit companies, although all categories hold value.

Mobile Operator

The nominees for this category are companies that have shown significant improvement and dedication to mobile real-money gambling. Both traditional gambling companies with a mobile version and mobile-only firms are eligible for nomination. Judges consider factors such as overall value to the industry in terms of growth, innovation, and product/service quality. Compatibility with iOS and Android devices is crucial, as well as attention to other platforms and versions.

The main criteria for the Mobile Operator award are:

  • Player metrics
  • Commercial success and growth of mobile products
  • Functionality and overall quality of the product
  • Differentiation and innovation
  • Cross-platform implementations

Casumo won this award last year, but they won’t be defending their title. The nominees for 2019 are LeoVegas, Mr Green, Global Gaming, Genesis Global Limited, Mobilebet, Betzest, and Betsson Group.

Casino Operator

The judges are looking for a casino operator that has the most reach and dominance in the Nordic region. Quality of products and services is crucial, but judges also consider the originality of the product, brand strength, and implemented innovations that set the company apart from others.

The key elements for the Casino Operator award are:

  • Commercial growth and success
  • Differentiation and innovation
  • Quality of brand, product, and marketing
  • Retention strategies and customer acquisition

LeoVegas won this award last year, and this year’s nominees are Videoslots, PlayOJO, Mr Green, Metal Casino, Global Gaming, Fairplay Casino, ComeOn!, Betsson Group, ALEA, and LeoVegas.

Casino Content Supplier

This award recognizes companies that have developed popular products throughout the year. The judges consider performance, quality, commercial success, customer service, and innovation.

Key criteria for the Casino Content Supplier award include:

  • Innovation
  • User experience and interface
  • Product development
  • Understanding customer needs

Evolution Gaming won this award last year, and this year’s nominees are Yggdrasil, SG Digital, Red Tiger Gaming, Quickspin, Pragmatic Play, Playtech, Play’n GO, NetEnt, Microgaming, and Booming Games.

Other Rules

The list of companies includes only the finalists who made it through the initial judging phase. Companies had to explain in less than 1,000 words why they should win a specific award. If a company applied for multiple categories, they had to submit unique entries and application forms.

The judges are experts in the industry who provide unbiased opinions. The winners are kept confidential until the official announcement on January 24.

Judging all the applicants is a challenging task. Judges thoroughly analyze each application, assign scores, and provide written comments explaining their decisions. An automated judging platform compiles the scores to determine the nominees and winners. In case of no clear winners, a “Highly Commended” award may be given after a conference call with the judges.

Awards, Casumo Casino, EGR, EGR Nordic Awards, Evolution Gaming, LeoVegas Casino


EnergyCasino promotions
What makes a casino bonus valuable?
Poker variants guide